Board Members

Board Members

The State Board of Equalization consists of forty-one members. Twenty-one are appointed by the Governor (a Chairman, ten members from Maricopa County and ten from Pima County). These members serve five-year terms. Members appointed by the Governor hear and decide both centrally valued property and locally assessed property. Property valued by the Department of Revenue is referred to as centrally valued (CV) property. Property valued by the local assessors' office is referred to as locally assessed. 

The remaining twenty members are appointed by the Maricopa and Pima County Boards of Supervisors (two by each Supervisor). They serve terms concurrent with the appointing Supervisors and at the pleasure of the Supervisors. These "county appointed" members only hear locally assessed property. 

Hearing Officer Assignment Login



Members must have "work experience and other qualifications" in property valuation, appeals, appraisal or condemnation. A member of the Board cannot hold any other state or local public office that interacts with this Board. 

The Board meets as necessary to hear and decide property owners' appeals of property valuations set by the Pima and Maricopa County Assessors and the Department of Revenue. The Chairman's position is full-time. Complete information can be obtained by reading Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 42-16151  

The Board of Equalization operates under Board Rules established by law. 

State Board Of Equalization

Govenor Appointees
George Shook, Interim Chairman Phoenix (Brewer)
Lester G. Abrams Maricopa County (Brewer)
Mary Z. Chandler Maricopa County (Brewer)
Susan Fair Maricopa County (Brewer)
Michael Galloway Maricopa County (Brewer)
Roger Heckel Maricopa County (Brewer)
Dan Swango Pima County (Brewer)
Bradley Tebow Maricopa County (Brewer)
Victor Thornton Pima County (Brewer)
Jeff Patch Pima County (Ducey)
Maricopa County Supervisor Appointees
Jared D. Kleinman District 1 (Sellers)
Darryl Jacobson-Barnes District 1 (Sellers)
Ryan Melzer District 2 (Chucri)
VACANT District 2 (Galvin)
Tim O'Connell District 3 (Gates)
Jay Ruffner, Jr. District 3 (Gates)
Stephen Haig District 4 (Hickman)
VACANT District 4 (Hickman)
VACANT District 5 (Gallardo)
Janice Alderson District 5 (Gallardo)
Pima County Supervisor Appointees
VACANT District 1 (Rex Scott)
VACANT District 1 (Rex Scott)
Susan Scherrer District 2 (Matt Heinz)
Jill Maratea District 2 (Matt Heinz)
VACANT District 3 (Dr. Sylvia M. Lee)
Beverly Weissenborn District 3 (Sharon Bronson)
VACANT District 4 (Steve Christy)
Shaun McClusky District 4 (Steve Christy)
Peter Pearman District 5 (Adelita Grijalva)
Neil Konigsberg District 5 (Adelita Grijalva)